Home > life > Cutting The Cord: On Life Without Cable TeeVee

Cutting The Cord: On Life Without Cable TeeVee

Like most of you, I’ve had a longstanding hatred of Comcast’s TV services. You want me to pay WHAT for this piece of junk Fisher Price DVR?! Loving your Apple products and hating Comcast’s stultifying services are 2 sides of the same coin.

So when I moved recently, I decided to cut the cord and not get TV at all. Here’s how I’m doing it, in bullet point format:

  • I bought a 300 dollar HTPC (home theater PC) from Acer. Its just a Windows 7 box in a compact form factor and comes with a wireless keyboard/mouse.
  • The HTPC has an HDMI out which goes directly into my LCD. I also connected it via Ethernet to my router.
  • I got the baseline Netflix subscription
  • I’m going to get Hulu Plus
  • I downloaded and installed Boxee for Windows.

And here’s the end result of all of this, also in lazy bullet point format:

  • Windows 7 stinks to the high heavens. Unlike Macs, things don’t work seamlessly.
  • Not having sports is pretty challenging.
  • Hulu Plus and Netflix together can get the job done for TV shows and movies.
  • Boxee isn’t as great as its made out to be. I was impressed, no doubt, but there’s definitely more heat than light here.
  • All in all, cutting the cord is a bitch and I don’t feel like the sharpest tool in the shed for having gone down this path.

Thus far, though, its worth it to not get price-gouged by Comcast. Let’s see how long I can hold out!

Categories: life
  1. Ashish Patil
    November 11, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    I like your blog..It was nice to see your experience to cut the cord…
    Infact I work in the Motorola division that makes the comcast box…So it is good to know people’s feedback to the Windows 7 box…Have u heard good things about the Google TV..??

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

